Embellished Kimono (£5.50)

sit (2)

Hello hello!

This make is inspired by some of the super snazzy jackety things out there at the minute. The Balmain X H&M black velvet beaded duster jacket really caught my eye, and whilst what I’ve made is actually quite different, I still feel luxurious when I wear it. Plus, if anybody really wants that particular look, feel free to get hand sewing those little beads  on! Once you have the basic shape, you can chuck on whatever glitzy bits you like.

The slightly tougher bit was working with velvet, which is slippery and stretchy, but throughout my video, there is lots of advice on how to make dealing with it a little easier. Just stick with me, and don’t panic if things get a little lumpy: ironing is helpful, and dark fabrics are forgiving! If you want to make the Kimono in a non-stretch fabric, however, your life will be extremely easy. Just do rolled hems on all of the edges. Oh, I should have mentioned also that it’s best to get 150cm/60inch wide fabric for this one.

I’m slowly discovering that this jacket is the most versatile item ever, and I’m really pleased with how it came out.

Have a try, and feel free to ask me any questions as you go.

Peace out.

VIDEO:

INSTRUCTIONS:

IMG_0126

FullSizeRender (3)

FullSizeRender (2)

8 thoughts on “Embellished Kimono (£5.50)

  1. It’s beautiful! And your illustrations are so neat. Thanks for sharing this. I often have thoughts to embellish plain ordinary items of clothing, and this is a great inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

